DRF News, Publications

Call for Contributions: International Histories of Disabilities

[from DRF member Roy Hanes]

My name is Roy Hanes and I am a professor at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada. I have been working and teaching in the field of disability for the past 30 years and one of my primary areas of interest is disability history. In fact, my PhD examined the rise of the crippled child saving movement in Canada.

I am in the process of developing an international histories of disabilities book and so far I have contributors from Canada, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Nepal, France, Belgium, Germany, England and Scotland.

Topics vary according to the interest of the contributors, listed below are a few examples:

  • Histories of the Deaf
  • Disability in Ancient Greece
  • Histories of Blind Persons
  • Histories of Disabled veterans
  • Histories of idiocy
  • Histories of cripples
  • Histories of special education

I am looking for more contributions and I would like to extend an invitation to you as well as academics, activists and researchers who you might know who are interested in histories of disabilities to contribute to this book. The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2012. For submissions/queries please email: roy_hanes@carleton.ca

Sincerely Yours, Roy Hanes, PhD.

Leave a Reply

